Get To Know Your Chakras

Get To Know Your Chakras

Chakra (cakra in Sanskrit) translates as 'wheel' and refers to powerful energy centres situated within our physical body. They are thought of as wheels or disks of spinning energy and they ideally should remain open or balanced for us to feel our best. There are seven main chakras that run from the base of the spine, right to the crown of your head. Although these are the seven main chakras, many believe that there are over 100 chakras in the body!

These important points of energy cannot be seen, but in time with practice, you can start to feel and understand how they work and shift your energy every day. Everything around us also carries an energy and that's why it's so important to have our chakras in sync to make sure we're ready to take on the world.

Let's start at the base:


The Root or Base Chakra is at the tailbone. It connects to your sense of smell and is red in colour. This chakra represents our safety, security, feeling grounded and safe. Going barefoot in the garden helps you really connect with this chakra and helps keep it balanced.


The Sacral Chakra is just below the naval. It connects to your taste and is orange in colour. It represents sensuality, joy, the ability to go with the flow and birthing of ideas. Being close to water, swimming and yoga postures focused on the hips can help to connect you with this chakra. 


The Solar Plexus Chakra is in the stomach area. It connects to your sight and is yellow in colour. It represents determination, ego, inner strength and focus. Candle gazing and core strengthening exercises helps keep this chakra balanced.


The Heart Chakra is in the centre of the chest. It connects to touch and is green/pink in colour. This chakra represents love, self love, compassion, authenticity, generosity. Practicing being kind to yourself and others is a big one to keep this chakra feeling in balance along with spending time in nature.


The Throat Chakra is in the throat area. It's blue and connected to hearing and speech. It represents self expression, communication, confidence and being heard. Practices to balance this chakra are singing, chanting, speaking your mind, expressing yourself and listening to others.


The Third Eye Chakra is in the middle of the forehead, between the eyebrows. It is connected to your intuition and inner knowing and is indigo in colour. It represents trusting your instinct, intuition and intelligence. Practices to balance this chakra are meditating or guided visualisations.


The Crown Chakra is at the top of the head. It's white in colour and represents being in balance, serenity, spirituality, wisdom and enlightenment. Practice meditation, yoga and spending time in silence to really connect with this chakra and keep it in balance.

If you're interested in finding out more about chakras and beginning your own journey, check out 'The Chakra Project' by Georgia Coleridge and 'Find Your Flow' by Sushma Sagar, both of which are great books to get you started.

An easy way to sense how your whole energy is feeling is to connect with the breath each day and get out into nature. If you notice yourself feeling tired or overwhelmed, take off your shoes and get your feet onto the ground to reconnect with the earth. This instantly links you to your base chakra and starts to help with the re-balancing process.

Older Post Newer Post

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published